Home » Music » Technology and piano teaching

Technology and piano teaching

Using technology seems to be a huge part of our society and using it in teaching piano and music seems to be becoming more and more important. I do use You Tube as a teaching tool to demonstrate how different artists interpret music. Access to this is invaluable. If I didn’t have this I would be none the wiser as to how these unfamiliar pieces sound. I spend quite a lot of time searching the internet to find suitable pieces for my students and You Tube helps me out a great deal. If you want to read about how other teachers use technology look at this from Tim Topham’s website:

timtopham.com

Go to the “technology” tab. Tim is a well-respected teacher, presenter, performer and accompanist based in Melbourne. I was privileged to hear him speak at the Australasian Piano Pedagogy Conference held in Toowoomba Qld last year. I am beginning to learn more teaching strategies and ideas by reading his blog. Incidently he was one of the first teachers to champion the “40 Piece Challenge”.
One thought on “Technology and piano teaching

Leave a Reply

